I've been doing anime dubbing for eight years, so I have more than enough experience doing lip sync and walla. Living in Los Angeles, I know of Barbara Harris and a few independent ones, but do loop groups ever advertise? Its not like one can just send a voice demo.

I also voice video games but lately work has totally dried up and am looking to try some different facets of the industry. I realize ADR work never really gets any glory, but I also know its a nice payday for the lucky few who do it on a regular basis (hence its competitive, I realize).

Thoughts?

Views: 1687

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Kyle,
You have asked exactly the same question as I posed to myself.
My agent Arlene Thornton told me that because agents don't usually get any commission off looping (as actors keep it a bit of a secret side job) then they don't really know who's running it.
Maybe you should write a book on it! I'll be the first in line!
Now that would be a useful book.
I also know LA is a place where no director or producer wants to take much of a risk, its easier to do an "ok" job rather than take a risk where the outcome might be "amazing" or "terrible".
If I find a book on it I'll let you know!

Cheers!
Thanks for the reply. Ya know, Arlene is actually my agent, too! I've just never asked her about it. :)
Kyle,

This is a great question from one of my favorite Anime VO guys.

I wonder how difficult it would be to, dare I say it, start your own Loop Group in LA? Is this something that is frowned upon? Maybe Roy with the Voice Over Work Out Lounge (VOWOL) would be someone to talk to about this. Its just a thought.