I would like to know if anyone is willing to share thier settings or at least offer some advice for PT. I understand that raw is best for auditions but I am fighting some very frustrting room noise, mostly a humming PC fan. I have treated the room as much as I can. I would like to limit this noise in post as much as possible without making my voice sound over processed. I would also really like to figure out some basic settings to EQ my voice and set the volume level appropriately every time. I guess I am asking two different things. One how do I best minimize the room noise in post and what are the best basic eq & volume settings for a male voice in PT. I would love to set some templates so as not tinker too much each time.

Here is a sample and if you listen closely through a good sets of phones you can hear fuzz and hum in the backround. I also beleive the volume is off. Be gentle, I am a newbie after all and I know it shows in this peice...Any suggesytons would be appreciated.

Thanks - Jeff

Views: 793

Attachments:

Replies are closed for this discussion.

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Jeff, is there anyway possible that you could put the computer in the room next to you and then run the cables through the wall? My booth is a large walk-in closet that I have converted into a small project studio. My PowerMac is in the room next to me...in that closet...works great! I cut a hole large enough for my cables and now I have a very nice and quite recording area. I have two flat panel monitors, my audio monitors and my Digi 003R interface.

PRESETS: Yes, this is the way to go...it's easy to do...on the plug-in of your choice (lets use the 1-Band EQ for example), simply click on the two little up/down triangles where you see the word DEFAULT and then you can click "SET AS DEFAULT" or you can select "SETTINGS PREFERENCES" > SET PLUGIN DEFAULT TO > USER SETTING.