Hello all! I'm Jay...(This is where everyone says "Hi Jay!"). I've been working in radio for 2 1/2 years and I'm 21 years old. I started voicing commercials as an intern learning commercial production at the radio station. I'm still in school at Temple University which prevents me from being able to work full time (at least during the day). I've been told I have a good voice and I'm blessed to work with CeCe McGhee everyday.

I'm curious to know how some of you got your start in the business, tips for creating a voice demo, and how to pin down the style of your voice. Any advice is great advice.

Thanks!

Views: 1555

Replies are closed for this discussion.

Replies to This Discussion

"Hi, Jay!"

I'm going to chime in really quick by advising you on equipment, and then let Rodney Saulsberry, James Alburger, Erin Fitzgerald, CeCe McGhee, Allison Scussell and our other pros on the site tell you what steps to take next. While some advice is different, they will all lead you to the door that has the prize behind it. You can NEVER get enough information, it's the right information that you'll want.

EQUIPMENT

RULE #1 "QUIET ON THE SET!"

Find a quiet spot in your house. NO loud AC, computer noise, street noise, barking dog an NO hollow room if your speaking loud. Stick pin your walls with comforters if you can't get Aurelex panels. If you're a laptop user like me, and can afford to buy a cheap monitor...place the lap top out side the door, attach monitor to the laptop and operate it with a wireless keyboard & mouse.

RULE #2 "We WORK for a reason"

DO NOT go out and buy expensive equipment...yet:)