I am brand new to voiceovers and I really want to make this my career. I know that your demo is one of the most important things that you can have as a VO artist but I'm not sure where I should go to make one. I'm not sure if I should get some training first or should I just go ahead and get my demo done. I live in the metro Detroit area. Please let me know what your experence tells me I should do to get started.

Views: 79

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I am just beginning, but think some training is a good start, then a demo when you're ready. I am sure people will expound on this and give you further input.
Good luck! Nice to network with other Michiganders!

Mike
Matt,

Training is important if you plan on being successful as a Voice Actor. You may already have a terrific voice and great delivery, but there's so much more to our industry than those important attributes. To know how the business works and learn more about working with a producer, home recording, and marketing yourself, etc., start by checking into web sites like VoiceCoaches.com, for example. Investing in your future is an important first step. Good luck!

Warren
Thank you for your advice!
Sorry for the blog spam, but I JUST wrote about this:
http://someaudioguy.blogspot.com/2008/07/musings-on-being-freelance...