I'm equipped with several mics, and each have it's own purpose.

MICS I ROCK

1. Sennheiser MKH 416 P48 (great for deep voiced trailers and narrations)
2. AKG C414b (classic for standard vo)
3. CAD Equitek E-350 (if you want ballz to tha wallz)
4. Audio Technica AT-4050 (great vocal mic)
5. Samson C03U USB Condenser Mic (This USB is serious on and off the road for nice, basic, clean vo's)
5. Rode Broadcaster (a nice mic, gets the job done)

DAW (DIGITAL AUDIO WORK STATION)

1. Adobe Audition (user friendly for recording, and a fan favorite)
2. Pro-Tools (the studio standand in producing, plus you can add it's ISDN quality service called source connect)
3. T-Racks is great for mastering in house audio, leave the rest to the pros

SOUND CARD & PROCESSOR

EMU 1616 (i personally swear by it)
Symetrix 528e (great piece, I mostly use it for noise reduction)

WHAT ARE YOU GUYS USING??

Views: 585

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Everyone,

I am new to VO, but my husband has been a professional lead guitarist his entire adult life. We have been recording his songs and set up the studio for that purpose so only some of our equipment is for my VO work.

MICS

1. Mojave MA200 (very smooth vocal mic)
2. Rode NT1-A (not sure about this one yet -- we are still getting to know each other)
3. (2) Okatva MK-319 (these seem to sound better on the Aphex than on the Avalon pre)
4. Shure KSM27 (my husband says this one makes me sound sexy)
5. Sennheiser 421 (good for acoustic guitar)
6. Shure SM81 (one of our favorites to mic the guitar amp)
7. Sennheiser 609 (good on the Marshall amps for rock sounds)

DAW

1. Pro Tools HD2 7.3.1
2. 96 I/O
3. MIDI I/O
4. Digidesign Control|24
5. Sweetwater Creation Station dual core, etc.

Plug Ins

Countless number of processing plug-ins by East-West, Isotope, Waves, Focusrite . . . too many to list.

Rack Equipment

Avalon VT737sp
Aphex 320
Presonus/Anthony DeMaria Labs 600
Drawmer Compressor
Alesis Masterlink
Neutrik 96 point patchbay